Altron Share Price: 00:00 AEN
0 (0.00%)
15 minutes delayed
-18 (-1.60%)


Printer-friendly version
Date of birth: 
29 July 1934

DPhil (Bus Man) (UJ); MPhil (Bus Man) (UJ – cum laude); MBA (Wales); DCom (hc) (UP, UFS and UPE);
DSc (Eng) (hc) (Natal); DEng (hc) (Wits); C Eng (UK); MI.E.E (UK)

  • Chairman Emeritus
  • Non-executive director of Altron, Altech, Bytes, Bytes (UK) and Powertech, former chairman of the CSIR, and past director of AMIC Limited and Nedcor Bank Limited
  • Former member of the State President’s Economic Advisory Board
  • Member of the Altron nomination committee and remuneration committee


UK-qualified chartered engineer and founder of Altron, through Allied Electric in 1965 and recipient of the Order of Meritorious Service (Gold), as awarded by the State President of South Africa for his significant contribution to South Africa’s electronics and telecoms industries.

Some 48 years devoted to entrepreneurial and managerial endeavours and initiatives in the electronics, telecommunications and power electrical industries, both in South Africa and the UK, firstly as electrical design engineer at GEC, then marketing manager at STC (SA) and thereafter founder and chief executive and latterly as chairman of the Altron group.

He has played an important role in developing the South African electronics and electrical industries into the key component of the national economy that it is today.

Awarded the Sunday Times Lifetime Achievement Award in 2006, and the Minister of Technology Lifetime Achiever Award in 2009, in recognition of his significant contribution to technology development in South Africa.

Voted as one of the Top 5 Businessmen of the Year by the Sunday Times Business Times and South Africa’s “Marketing Man of the Year”. Awarded the SETA ITC Legend Award (2009) for his contribution to telecoms and electronics development in Southern Africa.

Joined the Altron board in 1980.